Book Buzz: The Woman Before Wallis by Bryn Turnbull

“Real-life socialites . . . glimpses into an exclusive world . . . I recommend this juicy read about the scandals and lives of the rich, famous, and royal.” —Historical Novel Society




For fans of The Paris Wife and The Crown, this stunning novel tells the true story of the American divorcée who captured Prince Edward’s heart before he abdicated his throne for Wallis Simpson.


In the summer of 1926, when Thelma Morgan marries Viscount Duke Furness after a whirlwind romance, she’s immersed in a gilded world of extraordinary wealth and privilege. For Thelma, the daughter of an American diplomat, her new life as a member of the British aristocracy is like a fairy tale—even more so when her husband introduces her to Edward, Prince of Wales.


In a twist of fate, her marriage to Duke leads her to fall headlong into a love affair with Edward. But happiness is fleeting, and their love is threatened when Thelma’s sister, Gloria Morgan Vanderbilt, becomes embroiled in a scandal with far-reaching implications. As Thelma sails to New York to support Gloria, she leaves Edward in the hands of her trusted friend Wallis, never imagining the consequences that will follow.


Bryn Turnbull takes readers from the raucous glamour of the Paris Ritz and the French Riviera to the quiet, private corners of St. James’s Palace in this sweeping story of love, loyalty, and betrayal.

“What an exciting look into the scandalous, fabulous lives of the Morgan sisters. And Wallis Simpson up close and personal—what could be more wonderful or more wicked?  I loved this book.”
―Karen Harper, New York Times bestselling author of The Queen’s Secret

The Woman Before Wallis by Bryn Turnbull

416 Pages

ISBN 9780778361022


Bryn Turnbull is a writer of historical fiction with a penchant for fountain pens. Equipped with a master's of letters in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews, a master's of professional communication from Ryerson University, and a bachelor's degree in English literature from McGill University, Bryn focuses on finding stories of women lost within the cracks of the historical record. She lives in Toronto. The Woman Before Wallis is her first novel.



BOOKAVOLARE. Let Your Book Fly High!

Be The First To Know

Executive Square 
La Jolla, CA 92037

858 869 1868

info@bookavolare.com

Sign up for our newsletter

© 2020 BOOKAVOLARE Expect A Review !

Save The Rhino!