Book Buzz: Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado

This book feels like your best friend giving you a hug—it’s warm and sweet and healing.

—Mason Deaver



Coming of age as a fat brown girl in a white Connecticut suburb is hard.

Harder when your whole life is on fire, though.


Charlie Vega is a lot of things. Smart. Funny. Artistic. Ambitious. Fat.

People sometimes have a problem with that last one. Especially her mom. Charlie wants a good relationship with her body, but it's hard, and her mom leaving a billion weight loss shakes on her dresser doesn't help. The world and everyone in it have ideas about what she should look like: thinner, lighter, slimmer-faced, straighter-haired. Be smaller. Be whiter. Be quieter.


But there's one person who's always in Charlie's corner: her best friend, Amelia. Slim. Popular. Athletic. Totally dope. So when Charlie starts a tentative relationship with cute classmate Brian, the first worthwhile guy to notice her, everything is perfect until she learns one thing--he asked Amelia out first. So is she his second choice or what? Does he even really see her?


Because it's time people did.


A sensitive, funny, and painful coming-of-age story with a wry voice and tons of chisme, Fat Chance, Charlie Vega tackles our relationships to our parents, our bodies, our cultures, and ourselves.

“Issues of body positivity and racial and gender identity are dealt with in a light, positive, and totally engrossing manner. This novel is perfect for fans of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' (Balzer + Bray 2015) and for any reader who struggles with feeling like they are not enough.”
—School Library Connection

Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado

352 Pages

ISBN 9780823447176


Crystal Maldonado is a writer by night and a marketer and social media manager by day. She has been published in Latina magazine, The Hartford Courant, and Dogster, and is the co-founder of the online magazine Positively Smitten. Fat Chance, Charlie Vega is her debut novel and was bought in a competitive pre-empt as part of a two-book deal. She lives in Western Massachusetts with her husband, her dog, and her super-duper adorable baby daughter.



BOOKAVOLARE. Let Your Book Fly High!

Be The First To Know

Executive Square 
La Jolla, CA 92037

858 869 1868

info@bookavolare.com

Sign up for our newsletter

© 2020 BOOKAVOLARE Expect A Review !

Save The Rhino!